Anwar Wins Big in PD polls, To be Sworn-in Monday

PKR president-elect Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has won the much anticipated Port Dickson by-election with a 23,560-vote majority.

Despite a low voter turnout rate of 58.25%, Anwar gathered more votes than PKR’s Danyal Balagopal Abdullah during the 14th General Election, Malaysiakini reported. Danyal won with 17,710 votes on May 9 when the turnout rate was 82.8%.

Source: Malaysiakini

Anwar will be sworn-in at the Parliament coming Monday (Oct 15) as confirmed by Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusoff, NST reported.

Today’s by-election was a seven-cornered fight. 7,456 votes were cast to Lt-Kol (Rtd) Mohd NazarMokhtar from PAS, 4,230 votes to independent candidate Tan Sri Isa Samad, 337 to Stevie Chan, 214 to Lau Seck Yan, and 154 to Kan Chee Yuen.

Anwar’s former aide Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan had the least vote with 82 only, according to The Star.

Malaysiakini reported that many BN supporters seemed to have skipped the by-election as a sign of boycott based on the study of voting patterns.

That’s one step closer to for Anwar to become the next Prime Minister. We will start to hear more from him starting next week!  

Share this news with your friends and family! 

Most Popular

To Top